Home » Life Adventures » Mission: Blog Relocation – Complete.

Mission: Blog Relocation – Complete.

Howdy all! I’m excited to announce (in case the title hadn’t broken the news already) that I am relocating my blog!

If you’re just so excited and can’t wait until the end of the post, go check it out here! Make sure you subscribe to that blog and unsubscribe (if you were a subscriber) from this one, as I will no longer post on this site.

Since starting this blog in March, I figured going with wordpress.com as a host would be fine until I knew I was going to stick with it and consistently roll out posts. Now that it’s November and this is my 50th published post, I decided to take the plunge and get a “real” blog.

Thanks to my WordPress-know-it-all fiance Tom and last weekend’s Wordcamp, I’ve learned a lot about customizing my blog as well as good writing tips and techniques. So now that I’ve eaten of the Tree of Knowledge of WordPress, my desire for more freedom than I was getting with this blog has only increased. In my post about Wordcamp Raleigh, I made it a goal to get my own domain and implement plug-ins and customization that I was unable to use with this blog.Tree of website design

So, with Tom’s help and expertise, I got my own domain, installed WordPress, chose a Woothemes theme (I chose the Peddlar theme if you’re curious), transferred all of my posts and pictures, and tweaked everything before writing this post! I wanted to make sure that the foundation had been laid well enough before directing anyone to the site.

I am in no way finished with my website; it will likely change and morph as I learn new tricks of the trade. But for now, the skeleton is there – the organs, skin, and other features will continuously change. Is that too gross of an analogy? Oh well, you get the idea.

If you made it this far (thank you for reading my rambling) and don’t feel like scrolling back up for the link to my new website, click here!

Leave a Reply

