Home » Beauty » Closing the Waist Gap

Closing the Waist Gap

Calling all smaller-waist girls with a curvy bootay! If you’re like me, you hate shopping for bottoms – jeans, capris, shorts, trousers. Nothing ever seems to fit right.

Disclaimer: I debated for awhile whether I wanted to include pictures. I mean, it was kind of uncomfortable taking pictures of my butt from different angles with intention of posting them on the internet. But, I decided to include them because I know that I appreciate seeing pictures rather than just reading about how great something fits. I understand all bodies are different, but I thought the pictures could give you a better idea. So please don’t judge me and my round toches. That’s Yiddish for bum. Thanks!

Now that we got that out of the way, let’s continue.

The 2s (3/4s in some brands) fit great around the waist but everywhere else feels restricted. These could be my laying down and not moving pants. That would probably be the only activity (or lack thereof) that I could reasonably do in them.

If I get a pair of 4s (5/6s in some brands) to fit my butt’s circumference, there is that huge annoying gap either in the front or in the back because my waist is too small. Why must I always wear a belt to actually keep the extra junk in the trunk?

And wearing belts all the time for functionality rather than fashion gets really uncomfortable. Not to mention it always makes for a lumpy midsection. Exhibit A: I am in the center of the picture and my belt is extremely obvious. Side note: aren’t we cute?603807_10152781694520203_1574156246_n

Plus, because of my round derrière, I can’t get low-rise pants because I don’t quite feel like flashing everyone if I drop something and need to bend down. Don’t even think about sitting down. But then, when I go for mid-rise, the jean designers put the pockets so high that my butt looks like it’s half-way up my back.

Not cute. Or anatomically correct.

On top of this, I am a little taller than what jeans in my size usually come in off the rack; I’ve bought size 7s in the past just to compensate for my height. So I usually go for the jeans that come in different size and length combinations, going for regulars or longs, depending on how they fit. And it’s frustrating because these are the pants that are never on sale!

Can you say first world problems?

Seriously, this makes me want to go around pant-less. all. the. time. But that is not considered acceptable in this part of the world. Although I have seen some questionable outfits worn by girls here in New York City: Shorts so short I see butt cheeks. Leggings worn as pants without a long shirt to cover the bum. And I saw one girl running down Broadway wearing a skirt with a see-through overlay…the non-see-through layer was mid-thigh length and the overlay was floor-length…except when she was running, she was holding up the skirt so she didn’t trip…which is smart, except she was also holding up the bottom layer…so she was totally exposed…and she was totally wearing a thong. But that’s a whole different issue.

So since it’s not my style to go without bottoms, I usually just suck it up, keep trying on jeans, and hope to find a pair that I could deal with for an entire day, uncomfortable no matter which size I choose. Then, once I’m out of grad school, I’ll consider moving to a nude beach or somewhere that’s too hot to wear pants. all. the. time.

I know there are some brands that sell jeans made for curvy women. The problem? Well, to be blunt, as a graduate student I’m not willing to pay a lot for a pair of jeans. I’m looking at you Levi’s Curve ID (ranging from $50 to $100) and Eddie Bauer’s Stayshape jeans ($70-$80), to name a couple.

Fotor0101620326

Arizona flare, Arizona skinny, dENiZEN modern boot cut

I haven’t bought jeans in over a year, so I’ve been relying on the same 4 pairs of jeans (2 flare, 2 skinny), and it’s frustrating. I have to wear a belt with all 4 of them because of the stupid waist gap occurrence.

The other day I went to Target to grab a couple things. I figured I’d look at the jeans (just look, seeing as there’s no way I’ll find jeans that will work with my body) and maybe try some stuff on. I tried modern fit, slim fit, and curvy fit. And hated them all for different reasons.

Slim fit did not give enough coverage when I bent over. Modern fit was okay, but there was that damn waist gap, even though everything else fit nicely. Curvy fit is made for girls with a little more everywhere – it doesn’t work with slimmer waists. Isn’t that just plus size? But, I digress.

AND THEN! I found a great gem. Enter dENiZEN (that’s how the brand is written, don’t ask me why) Essential Stretch Modern Boot Cut Jeans. These jeans are from Levi’s. And they’re stretchy. And they’re only $27.99!

back view

Arizona flare, dENiZEN modern boot cut

They aren’t jeggings but they feel amazing. I got a size 4 Medium; the 4 Long was excessively long. I don’t need a belt with them, and they don’t cut the circulation off in my butt or thighs. Plus, they aren’t like some mid-rise jeans that come to my belly button and make my butt look weird. It’s a win-win!

This brand does come in a skinny jean style, but I didn’t like how they fit. They’re still stretchy, but the legs were a bit tight at the bottom. I’m not a skin-tight skinny jean gal. I am so glad I found these, and (bonus!) just in time for Back To School shopping.

Not only do I like the way they fit and look on me, but I wore them to work one day and my female coworker told me my butt looked great! Plus, Tom likes them too! Approval from both sexes. Score! Hence why I went back to Target this week and picked up a second pair.

Update: Since I originally wrote this post about 2 months ago (I’ve been busy…and debating whether or not to include the pictures…), I just wanted to say that I think I would grab a Long version of these if I were to purchase another pair. I have a 33-34″ inseam and I like my pants to be a bit long; numerous washing and drying has shrunk them in length a bit, so I would definitely go for the 4L next time.

Leave a Reply

