Home » Reviews » Conscious (un)Box(ing)

Conscious (un)Box(ing)

I have seen a lot of YouTube videos (remember my secret obsession? Read about it here) about monthly subscription boxes. Companies send subscribers a box of products depending on what type of company they are; for example, some send out only beauty items, others are full of products for your pets. Usually the person is being sponsored, so they received their box for free, and were asked by the company to unbox the package and do a haul/review.

Unfortunately for us normal folk (at least us poor college kids), we actually have to payDSCN1082 for these items that are less than necessary. And some of these subscriptions can get upwards of $50! No way Jose. Luckily enough, I had signed up for weekly emails from a company called Conscious Box because one of the aforementioned YouTubers had hosted a giveaway through the company and signing up was one of the rules.

Usually I just delete these emails because I think that I can use $20 per month on more important things. However, I received one that advertised a free box with the use of the provided promotion code. Now, when I say free, I mean I did not have to pay the flat $20; I did still have to pay $7.95 for shipping and handling. Either way, I jumped on that offer and signed up to receive a box in June.

DSCN1088Now the cool thing about Conscious Box is they are dedicated to providing subscribers with body and earth conscious products ranging from beauty to food to household (You can read their Mission here). They have 3 options: Classic, Vegan, and Gluten Free. So you can choose which type of box you would like to receive and they ship a box of goodies to your door every month. If you are either unhappy or don’t want to continue receiving products, you can simply pause your subscription (Check out their How It Works page here).

DSCN1089So anyways, on to my June Conscious Box. As you can see above, the packaging is so neat and cute. The box was surprisingly heavy when I picked it up and was completely full of products, unlike most orders where there is more styrofoam or bubble wrap than actual product. There is also a card inside that lists all of the products and descriptions.

chicken poopChicken Poop lip balm – Although this is not made from poop, I dislike the smell immensely. I think it is the lavender – it is just too overwhelming, especially since my lips are directly under my nose. Like everyone else’s…

DSCN1095

Son For Men Organic, Vegan, Non-GMO Soothe – I am tempted to use this after I shave. No, I don’t shave my face. I am just a little hesitant because I prefer to smell guys, not smell like one. Maybe I’ll have Tom try it and get back to you.

DSCN1096

Bottle Bright Water Bottle Cleaner – This is such an awesome idea! I was actually just talking to my friend about what a hassle it is trying to clean water bottles. I will definitely be trying this out.

DSCN1097

Sea Foam Face and Body Lotion – This lotion is unscented, and even though I like scented lotions, they are good for those of us with sensitive skin. The sample size is greatfor traveling, so I will be testing this out for sure.

DSCN1099

Nature’s Baby Organics Bubble Bath – The smell is nice and fruity – the scent is Tangy Tangerine. I do not have a tub to try this out with but hopefully someday I will get the chance to use it.

DSCN1112

ACTZ Glycerin Soap – This soap claims to save lives…except it is shaped like a cupcake and I might want to eat it! So cute! And it’s in the scent “Shower Candy and Desserts”, so it smells divine.

DSCN1100

Lotus Moon Hibiscus Flower Facial Moisturizer – I plan on trying this out tonight after I wash my face. It smells nice – kind of fresh and clean. It says it is meant for all skin types and is vegan, gluten-free, non-gmo (that’s Genetically Modified Organism), and 82% organic. So please don’t break meout. kthxbai.

DSCN1104

Slumberland Sleep Squares – These are super intriguing – chocolate squares that help you sleep? And they’re only 15 calories a pop?! This package contains 2 squares, so this is potentially two nights’ worth of chocolate-filled, dreamy, restful nights.

DSCN1102

Organic Flavrz Drink Mixes – I’m not a huge fan of flavored water, so I was kind of disappointed to find 4 of these packets. My philosophy: either give me plain water or give me something with tons of sugar; none of this halfway stuff. I tried one of the berry ‘Revive’ mixes tonight with a bottle of waterand it was okay.

DSCN1103

Sneakz Organic Nutrition Milkshake – The name is kind of lame – it refers to adding veggies into your child’s lunchbox without them realizing. You sneaky mom! Unless of course they can read. Then you’re screwed. I’m excited to give it a go. And I can read.

DSCN1105

Alt Peanut Butter Cookie Fruit and Nut Bar – You had me at peanut butter. And then cookie. This sucker is gluten free, dairy free, non-gmo, kosher, and vegan. Hopefully we can add delicious to that list.

DSCN1106

Skout Bars – These have an even longer list of fancy things: organic, vegan, gluten free, non-gmo, dairy & soy free, naturally occurring protein, fiber, and vitamins, and no refined sugar or fillers. Whew. I tried the cherry vanilla one for a snack today and it was really good!

Also included is a $50 gift card for Naked Wines, so that is absolutely amazing! Overall, I am really satisfied with my $7.95 purchase; this was a great box to receive because it was packed with so much great stuff. I don’t even think I would have minded if I had paid the full price for this box. I will definitely consider subscribing for another month!

2 thoughts on “Conscious (un)Box(ing)

Leave a Reply

